Weddings

Stephanie & Kale: I Do

This gorgeous couple prove two is always better than one.

Stephanie & Kale: I Do

A destination wedding by the sea led this couple 8 hours south from their Geraldton, WA home. The sweltering 38 degree day started stressfully as the bride ripped one of her dresses, but as soon as Stephanie saw Kale tear up at the other end of the aisle, she knew this was a day she would never forget.

As Kale is from a farming background, the newly-weds decided on a farm and vintage theme – which led to Stephanie opening a small vintage-hire company to source items for their big day! Both the bride and her ‘maids had two (yes TWO!) dresses for the day, allowing them to go from the ceremony to reception with ease.

It’s clear to see the personal quirks strewn throughout this wedding; from Stephanie’s Dad wearing a kilt to the seating plan representing all the places the couple hold dear and the decorated love hearts with scribbles from Stephanie’s class (she’s a teacher) who wrote down what they think love is. TOO CUTE.

The details

Date: December 14, 2013.

Dress: $1800, Grace Loves Lace ‘Emme’ gown (graceloveslace.com.au) and $3000 Hobnobs fishtail gown (hobnobbridal.com.au). “I loved having two gorgeous gowns. I couldn’t decide between having a traditional gown and something boho and vintage. I wore the traditional gown for the ceremony and the other one for the reception.”

Veil: Hobnobs. “I wanted to look like a princess and have sparkly crystals at my big day because it was in the garden under the sun.”
Jewellery:Samantha Willis (samanthawillis.com) and Kate Ketzal Earrings (kateketzal.com). “They were both simple but still elegant.”

Bridesmaid dresses: Lisa Brown ‘Poppy’ (lisa-brown.com.au) for the ceremony and Angel Biba (angelbiba.com.au) for the reception. “The girls also had two dresses! I wanted to keep the pastel theme.”

Flowers: Chantelle Shaw at Flowers in Love (flowersinlove.com). “I chose silk flowers as I had to travel 10 hours to my wedding venue from my home. On the day I was able to redesign my bouquet a few times till it was just right.”

Ceremony & Reception: Aqua Resort Busselton (08 9750 4200). “Having the sea breeze in the garden and making the wedding become more of a weekend event with family we don’t see often as most of them live 5 hours away.”

"We had games in the garden, such as coits and bochee for the guests."

Catering: The Goose Restaurant, Busselton (thegoose.com.au).“We had a sit down three course mean. Simmo’s ice cream deserts and the steaks were amazing. I had guests raving about the food for months to come.”

Entertainment: Edible Art (edibleart.com.au). “I hand made little wooden figures of me, my partner and our two dogs Thumper and Bear for the top of the cake. This way my gorgeous pups could still be included.”

Stationary: Rhiana at Zest and Lime (zestandlime@gmail.com). “The colour and design was unique and reflected us. I hand-made every name card. They were hand cut and and every individual letter was hand stamped by me.”

Decorations: Geraldton Vintage Hire. “I wanted a vintage wedding so I created my own vintage hire company in Geraldton. This took over a year of collecting and resourcing goods including an old ‘Fienberg’ ceramic bottle for our signing table which reflected our family heritage.”

Favours: Vista Print (vistaprint.com.au) and KB Candles (kbcandlesnaturaltherapies.com.au). “We had stubby holders, small candles in berry and vanilla scent and a lolly bar! We liked the simple and useful gifts which showed our appreciated for everyone who travelled.”

Photographer: Ben Yew Photography (benyew.com). “Ben is the most chilled out and hilarious person. He definitely made the day special. We had over five photographers there on the day which all came as part of Ben’s service.”

Guests: 90

Overall Cost: $40,000